Previous & Next

Lady in Black is dancing with me
2006-06-16 @ 5:26 a.m.

Emu-head inspired me to put up a photo. Here goes....

This was for my portfolio. New hair.

I would put up more, but I'm damned tired. Whew! I worked another shift at the hospital. Now I'm home and have to wake up in 3 hours to go get my TB test checked. It's not red or bumpy, so I'm hoping that's a good sign. One of the women I worked with found out she had TB, so everyone who worked with her had to get the test. I'm an insane-hand-washer. When I think about TB, I am reminded of a book by Frank McCourt--Angela's Ashes. I loved this book, and when I feel sorry for myself I read it again. It takes place in Ireland where it's quite rainy, and consumption was a common thing to get.

I talked to Steve last night. I need to shut up more and listen. I chatter and chatter and interrupt, which isn't like me. At least I don't think so, but I am attention-starved. I have had so little contact with people outside the mental hospital. And it's not like we don't have great conversations... I need to listen more. He's probably going to be getting up for work here soon. When I say here, I don't mean here in my house--I mean immediately or soon. It's an Indiana expression I assume because it doesn't make a whole lot of sense.

I now drive a bus. Hehehe. I drive folks around on a bus, in heavy traffic, with armer around me. I carry folks, and a few of them have oxygen tanks--Mr. President, if you want to know where the WMDs are....they are on several old people on the bus I drive who are hooked to oxygen tanks! So look for me and the crazy train...errr bus. :) So my list of weird jobs and skills gets one more item.

Weird jobs and/or skills:
1. painting propane tanks
2. cleaning the blood off of coats which were used in slaughtering animals
3. waitressing
4. cooking breakfast
5. making tacos
6. training people to make tacos
7. knowing the weight of each item on the Taco Bell menu
8. selling daylilies
9. selling vehicles
10. teaching at the university/college level
a. public speaking
b. performance studies
c. communication theory
d. communication methodology
e. exploration of communication
f. nonverbal communication
g. cultural communication (albeit I do not think I taught this well as I was dragged into teaching it last minute)

11. working in a mental institution
12. being put in a mental institution
13. working as a cook in college
14. being a student utility worker in college
15. insurance claims adjuster--I was fired after a month, but still...
16. writer for a newspaper back in Indiana
17. artist extrodinare....
18. cpr
19. first aid
20. professional shopper--I've been training for this my whole life!

goals:
1. learn to cut hair
2. taking sign language for the next week and learning it
3. get my clinicals done so I will have my masters degree in pyschology
4. never continue my phD in communication
5. stay in my job for another 10 months
6. get more schooling b/c 2 classes are free every time I teach 2 or more classes :)
7. get my associates degree in something
8. learning to cook
9. make some new friends and find the time to visit old ones.
10. start fucking sleeping!
11. stop swearing so much
12. hike more
13. go to San Diego more and visit friends, look for jobs, make contacts, look for condo or small home
14. SLEEPING! SLEEPING! SLEEPING!

I'm really into lists lately. I'm going to make a list of things that I wish to do before I'm 40. God, I'm going to be 31 soon. Not that soon.

I'm going to go medicate myself to sleep. Then I'll medicate myself to wake up. God bless modern medicine.


Previous & Next

Back Up